things I love: a good fountain pen

A couple of weeks ago–actually, right before Christmas–the crappy purple Target-purchased fountain pen I was using on New Novel kicked the bucket. After I’d used it for maybe a week. To say that I was annoyed would be an understatement, but there were no refills to be found for the pen, so I moved on to a ballpoint.

After only a couple of days of writing, my hand was so terribly sore. That fountain pen was terrible, it’s true, but it also kept my hand moving freely over the page without having to exert much pressure at all, something the ballpoint just couldn’t do. I put a new fountain pen on my Christmas list, and didn’t think much about it, so when I got an awesome fountain pen kit–complete with four (4!) ink cartridges and a bottled ink converter and an honest-to-Pete bottle of ink I was so ridiculously excited. And, since this is not a crappy Target-bought fountain pen, it actually has a medium nub instead of a huge one. Which made my writing go from this:

old pen

To this:

new pen

Okay, so it probably doesn’t look that different. But trust me when I say that I no longer feel like I’m writing with a Crayon, and that my handwriting looks more like my handwriting with this new pen. I love it. And now I aim to go trawling the internet to find what bizarre ink colors I can purchase. In bottles. Just like Harry Potter. *easily amused*

Leave a Reply

